District Information

About the Evergreen

   The Evergreen Underground Water Conservation District was created in 1965 in accordance with Section 59, Article 16 of the Constitution of the State of Texas, as a two county Groundwater Conservation District encompassing Atascosa and Wilson Counties. On April 6, 1985 , an election was held to ratify the incorporation of Frio County , and elect two representatives to the Board of Directors. On January 17, 1998 the District held an election in Karnes County to ratify a petition to annex Karnes County into the district, and elect two Directors. 


The Evergreen was created by the Texas Legislature to protect and conserve the groundwater resources of Atascosa, Frio, Karnes, and Wilson counties, through local management in coordination with Groundwater Management Areas 13 and 15 (GMA 13 and GMA 15). The District directs its efforts for the conservation, preservation, protection, recharging, and prevention of waste of groundwater in groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions. The District’s rules and management plan are based on the best available science, within the laws and rules in effect.